

Dharmsinh Desai University

"Notification"

As per the provision of section 8(d) of Dharmsinh Desai University act The Board of research is established as one of the authority of the university under Regulation 6(4) of Dharmsinh Desai University Regulations. Accordingly, in pursuance of the said regulation "The Board of Research ("Research advisory board") is constituted as under

1	Dr H M Desai	Vice Chancellor (Chairman)
2	Dr V A Shah	Dean FOT
3	Dr N K Patel	Dean FMIS
4	Dr Tejal Soni	Dean, FOP
5	Dr Hiren Patel	Dean, FOD
6	Dr Arun Vyas	Dean NDDFMSR
7	Dr Pukur Thekdi	Medical Superintendent
8	Dr Purvang Dalal	HOD EC
9	Dr Vipul Dhabi	HOD IT
10	Dr M S Rao	HOD Chemical
11	Dr H S Mujumdar	Professor EC
12	Dr Atindra Shukla	Associate professor Chemistry
13	Dr.Shashikant Sharma	ISRO
14	Dr C K Bhensdadiya	Member of Academic council (VC appointee)
15	Dr Shekar Gupta	VP R&D Apar Industries
16	Dr.Shrenik Shah	Director Montage Laboratory, Himmatnagar.
17	Dr B N Suhagia	Director R&D

Subject to the provisions of the Act and the Regulations, the Board of Research shall exercise the following powers and perform following functions:-

A. Generally to exercise the control and general regulation over the research policy and shall be responsible for the maintenance of the standard and implementation of the research activities including the Doctorate programme and policy keeping in mind the objects of the University.

Dharmsinh Desai University

M

College Road, Nadiad - 387 001, India. Ph : 91 0268 2520502 Fax : 91 0268 2520501 Website : www.ddu.ac.in



- B. To take all measures to create ambience, atmosphere and culture for quality, socially relevant, applied and interdisciplinary research.
- C. Formulate the policy of Research (Road map) for the development of research in the University,
- D. To promote seriousness and interest for quality research and the skill of innovation and create intellectual capital amongst teachers and students.
- E. To ensure integrity, quality and ethics in research.
- F. To integrate teaching and research through transformation and instructional research to identify the generation of intellectual capital and new knowledge.
- G. To encourage creativity amongst the students and teachers through Idea Lab.

Subject to the provisions of the Act and the Regulations, The procedure for meeting of the The Board of Research is as under

- A. Meetings: The meeting of such committee, council, board, etc. shall meet as and when required and as decided by the Chairman of the respective committee, council or board. However, the committees and Boards constituted under the Regulations as authorities of the University under section 8 (d) of the Act shall meet at least twice in a year.
- B. Notice:- The member secretary shall issue a notice of the meeting at least 10 clear days before the date of the meeting and send the agenda at least 5 days prior to the date of the meeting. Provided however, in case of emergency, the period of notice of the meeting shall be waived by the Chairman.
- C. Term:- The term of the office of the non-official member shall be for 3 years. The decision in the meeting of such board, committee, council shall be by majority of votes and the Chairman shall have 2nd or casting vote in case of equality. In absence of the regular Chairman the members present in the meeting shall decide one of the members to preside over the meeting.
- D. Quorum: One third of the members of the committee, council or the board etc. shall constitute the quorum for the transaction of the business. In case of a meeting adjourned for want of the quorum, the Chairman shall call adjourned meeting and the quorum shall not be required.

Dharmsinh Desai University

College Road, Nadiad - 387 001, India. Ph : 91 0268 2520502 Fax : 91 0268 2520501 Website : www.ddu.ac.in



- E. Minutes: The decision of the board, committee, council etc. shall be recorded in the form of resolution only and shall not contain deliberation and discussion. However, on any issue a decent specially requested for, by the member shall be recorded. The minutes of the meeting shall be circulated to the members within 7 working days from the date of the meeting by the member secretary.
- F. Supplementary provision for all authorities and committee council:

a Unless and otherwise specifically provided under the DDU Act, the term of the nominated members shall be three years. Such members may resign by writing under his signature to the Registrar and the Nominating authority shall take decision on the resignation.

b. If the member other than ex-officio remains absent without prior permission of the Chairman for 3 consecutive ordinary meetings will automatically be ceased to be the member and a communication in this respect shall be issued to member concerned. In his place other member will be appointed from the same category from where the member has resigned. Such nominated member will continue as member only for a remaining period of original member in whose place he or she has been nominated.

c. In any emergency, where the action is required to be taken on urgent basis and where the approval of the concerned authority, committee, council, etc. is required, then the proposed decision in form of resolutions may be circulated to all members of the concerned authority or committee, council or board and on the signatures of the majority members, the said resolution shall be implemented forthwith.





Prof M R Bhavsar Registrar, D D University

Dharmsinh Desai University

College Road, Nadiad - 387 001, India. Ph : 91 0268 2520502 Fax : 91 0268 2520501 Website : www.ddu.ac.in